Michele Myong

Postdoctoral Associate at Brookhaven National Laboratory (Bird Lab)
BA Chemistry, Columbia University, 2016
PhD Physical Chemistry, Northwestern University (Advisor: Prof. Michael Wasielewski), 2021

Dave MacMillan wins Nobel Prize in Chemistry!

Wholehearted congratulations to Dave MacMillan, BioLEC’s Director of Strategy, on winning the 2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Dave was recognized with Benjamin List of the Max Planck Institute for Coal Research and the University of Cologne for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis.

The Nobel committee describes asymmetric organocatalysis as “an ingenious tool for building molecules…Benjamin List and David MacMillan are awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2021 for their development of a precise new tool for molecular construction: organocatalysis. This has had a great impact on pharmaceutical research, and has made chemistry greener.”

Congratulations Dave!


Former BioLEC Distinguished Postdoc Hannah Sayre starts new position at Northeastern University

Congratulations to Hannah Sayre, who has just started in her new role as Assistant Professor in Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Northeastern University in Boston, MA. Hannah was the first post doc selected for BioLEC’s Distinguished Postdoctoral program, working with the Center from 2018 to 2021, where she played a key role in several highly collaborative projects and led the organizational efforts for the Center’s early career researchers.

Hannah Sayre Her work culminated in two recent publications: a paper in J. Am. Chem. Soc. on increasing yields using nature-inspired ligands in photoredox reactions, and a perspective in Energy & Environ. Sci. on the implications of BioLEC’s work for energy applications.

BioLEC Investigators Win ACS National Awards

Congratulations to three BioLEC investigators who have won prestigious 2022 ACS National Awards!

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen (MIT) was recognized with the ACS Pure Chemistry Award
Abigail Doyle (UCLA) won the ACS Elias J. Corey Award for Outstanding Original Contribution in Organic Synthesis by a Young Investigator
Todd Hyster (Cornell) won an ACS Cope Scholar Award

The ACS National Awards program is designed to encourage the advancement of chemistry in all its branches, to support research in chemical science and industry, and to promote the careers of chemists. The winners will be honored at the awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 22, 2022, in conjunction with ACS Spring 2022 in San Diego.

Read more at C&EN.